Five councillors resign from Cranbrook Town Council

PUBLISHED: 11:00 12 February 2017

Cranbrook Cllr Shaun West (vice chairman). Ref mhc 8849-25-15TI. Picture: Terry Ife

Cranbrook Cllr Shaun West (vice chairman). Ref mhc 8849-25-15TI. Picture: Terry Ife


Cranbrook Town Council (CTC) is experiencing a ‘high turnover’ of councillors.

Five councillors have resigned, while four new councillors have been co-opted.

The resignations comprise Shaun West, Vicky Keating, Karen Jennings, Phil Tucker and Nick Partridge (who has since re-applied for co-option).

New councillors are Louisa Joslin, Derek Atkinson, Ray Bloxham and Colin Buchan, with three vacancies.

“We have been experiencing
a relatively high turnover of councillors in our young history,”
said Janine Gardner, CTC’s town clerk. “This has been mainly to do with the demands this young organisation places on its members – setting up a new organisation in addition to keeping on top of the day job in an unusually busy environment can be very challenging.

“Our new councillors have started to make a real difference.

“For example organising the station artwork competition, researching green waste collections and starting a “Love Your Cranbrook” campaign.”

Shaun West – CTC’s vice chairman and chairman of planning – is one of the key resignations.

Cllr Kevin Blakey, CTC’s chairman, said: “We were very sad to lose Shaun as one of the founding members of the town council and recognise the difference he made to life in the town, even since before the town council was established.

“We wish him all the best for the future.”

Comments have been disabled on this article.

Latest from the Cranbrook Herald

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists